Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


Middle School Academic Bowl Team is Statebound!

Sperry Middle School Academic Bowl to Be in State Tournament


Congratulations to Sperry Middle School 6th and 7th grade Academic Bowl Team and Coach Shaun Coke!

On February 10th, the team participated in the Oklahoma Junior Academic Bowl Association (OJABA) Class C Regional Double-Elimination Tournament and placed 4th after five matches. They have earned a spot at the State Tournament in April.

A total of 7 members make up the 6th and 7th grade Academic Bowl Team. The 7th grade team members are Dillon Briggs, Alonso Jiminez, and Brayden Tiller.  The 6th grade members are Wynter Dunning, Matthew Roland, Emery Edgar, and Abbie Anquoe. 

“I’m proud of the team,” Sperry Middle School Academic Bowl Coach Shaun Coke said.  “They practice often, review new information regularly, and participated in several scrimmages to help prepare for our district games.”  Team members study a wide range of information, from famous people and events, scientific advancements, present and past culture, and aspects of all core content.  Schools are represented by teams with four participants at a time who are seated at buzzers.  Participants require a good mix of a broad base of informational knowledge, reasoning and computation skills, and quick reflexes to be the first to buzz in and respond with the correct answer. 

This is only the second opportunity for the Sperry Middle School Academic Bowl Team to participate in the State Tournament.  The 2002-2003 Middle School Academic Bowl Team placed first at the Regional Tournament and went to the State Tournament, but no team has advanced to the State Tournament since. 

“It’s always great to have one of our teams make it to the State Tournament,” Middle School Principal Mike Juby said, “and it’s even more exciting for a team that is going for the first time in 14 years.” 


Front row:  Abbie Anquoe, Matthew Roland, Wynter Dunning, Emery Edgar.
Back row:  Mr Coke, Alonso Jimenez, Brayden Tiller, Dillon Briggs.